Who won the Iranian election 2020?

Results. The Conservatives won a landslide and swept all 30 seats in the constituency including Tehran and its suburbs. Fars News Agency published unofficial preliminary tallies, reporting that out of 183 decided seats the conservatives won 135 while the independents were at 28 and the reformists only had 20.

Do Iranians vote for president?

Electoral system. The President of Iran is elected for a four-year term by universal adult suffrage with a minimum voting age of 18. The presidential term is renewable once in a consecutive manner.

When was the last Iranian election?

Presidential elections were held in Iran on 19 May 2017, the twelfth such election in Iran. Local elections were held simultaneously. Candidates’ registration took place from 11 to 15 April 2017. Incumbent president Hassan Rouhani was eligible to run for re-election.

Who is ruling Iran now?

President of Iran

President of the Islamic Republic of Iran
Incumbent Ebrahim Raisi since 3 August 2021
Style Mr. President His Excellency
Status Head of government
Member of Cabinet Expediency Discernment Council Supreme National Security Council Supreme Council of the Cultural Revolution

Who was the president of Iran in the 80s?

Presidential elections were held for the first time in Iran on 25 January 1980, one year after the Iranian Revolution when the Council of the Islamic Revolution was in power. Abolhassan Banisadr was elected president with 76% of the vote.

Who was leader of Iran before 1979?

One of the most dramatic changes in government in Iran’s history was seen with the 1979 Iranian Revolution where Shah Mohammad Reza Pahlavi was overthrown and replaced by Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini.

How is the president elected in Iran?

The president of Iran is elected for a four-year term by direct vote and is not permitted to run for more than two consecutive terms. Chapter IX of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Iran sets forth the qualifications for presidential candidates.