What are the different class of fuses?

Fuse Classes. How to Choose Correctly?

Fuse Type Max. Current Rating Classification
Class C 1200A -Non-renewable -Time-delay
Class CC (Midget) 30A -Non-renewable -Current limiting -Fast-acting
Class T 1200A -Non-renewable -Current limiting -Fast-acting
Class G 21A / 60A -Non-renewable -Current limiting -Time-delay

What size is a Class H fuse?

Class H NON Style One 30 Amp Time Fuse.

What are Class H fuses?

What is a Class H, Fuse? A UL Class H fuse is a non-current limiting, fuse that is rated to interrupt a minimum of 10,000 amps. The Class H fuse is a one-time fuse that does not have any appreciable degree of time delay. Class H fuses are rated at either 250 volts AC or 600 volts.

What is the difference between RK1 and RK5 fuses?

What is the difference between UL Class RK1 and RK5 fuses? Class RK1 and RK5 fuses are the same physical size but Class RK1 fuses are more current-limiting than Class RK5 fuses. RK1 fuses can provide better protection because they allow less damaging energy to pass through them while opening (blowing).

What is a Class D fuse?

The D fuse-system is the first generation of the screw fuse-system in the german DIN standard. It is still used in many installations. Applications are low voltage ditribution units, where non trained persons are allowed to change the fuse-links. The D fuse-range comprises the sizes NDZ, DII, DIII, DIV, DV.

What is the difference between a Class J and Class R fuse?

Class R fuses are available with DC ratings. They have an interrupting rating of 200kA rms symmetrical and are separated into two separate classes, RK1 and RK5. Current ratings of UL Class J fuses range from 0A to 600A, and the voltage rating is 600VAC. Class J fuses are available with DC ratings.

What is a Class L fuse?

A Class L fuse is 600 volt AC current limiting, fuse that is rated to interrupt a minimum of 200,000 amps. The Type L Fuse is UL Listed, under UL 248-10, Class L, (601-6,000 amps) and CSA Certified,. The Type L fuse is UL Recognized, for ampere ratings of 100 to 600 amps.

What is a Class K fuse?

Class K fuses. These non-renewable fuses are available in 250VAC and 600VAC ratings, with current ratings from 0A to 600A. Class K fuses are available with DC ratings. The interrupting ratings may be 50kA, 100kA, or 200kA rms symmetrical. Class K-1 fuses provide the best degree of current limitation.

What is Class G fuse?

What is a Class G, Fuse? A UL Class G fuse is a 600/480 volts AC current limiting, fuse that is rated to interrupt a minimum of 100,000 amps. Ampere ratings range from ½ amp to 60 amps. The type G fuse meets the NEC, requirements for branch circuit, protection.

What is a Class C fuse?

Class C fuses are not dimensionally or electrically interchangeable with other North American fuses. They feature ceramic bodies and bolt-in mounting. They are for short-circuit protection only, in motor controllers, for example, where overload protection is provided by an overload relay.

What is a Class SC fuse?

SC-(amp) Description: Basic protection Class G size-rejecting, current limiting fuses. 1/2 to 6A Fast-acting, 7 to 60A time-delay. Time-delay – 12 seconds (minimum) at 200% of rated current.

Can you replace a 15 amp fuse with a 20 amp fuse?

You should never replace 15-amp fuses with 20-amp fuses. If you use the incorrect amp fuse, then you have a serious risk of an electrical fire. The higher-amp fuse allows you to draw more amps from the fuse, but the wiring is only suited for the lower-level amp.

Can you use 15 AMP plugs on a 20 amp circuit?

A 15amp receptacle on a 20 amp circuit will not overload the circuit. You will only be allowed to plug in 15a devices. How many you plug in is always a concern that you should observe. However if you put a 20 amp receptacle on a 15 amp it allows a 20 amp device(like an AC) to be plugged into a 15a rated circuit.

What size wire do you need for a 20 amp breaker?

Building codes based on the National Electrical Code prohibit the use of 14-gauge wire anywhere on a 20-amp circuit. All wiring in such circuits must be 12-gauge or larger. The code also prohibits installation of a 20-amp Ground-Fault Interrupter receptacle on a 15-amp circuit.

What is 20 amp GFCI?

The Class A Rated White 20-Amp GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter) duplex outlet provides electrical shock protection and prevents the risk of electrical fire caused by ground fault current.