Can you get your ears pierced in California?

Teens have a right to have their ears pierced, but not any other body parts, according to a law passed by the California Legislature and signed by Gov. 1, makes body piercing illegal for those under 18 unless a parent is present or provides notarized permission. Ears are exempt.

What piercings can you get at 13 in California?

Piercings for Minors

  • Ear Lobe Piercings. For ages 8 and up.
  • Cartilage Piercings (Helix) For ages 13 and up.
  • Bellybutton (Navel) For ages 13 and up.
  • Nose (Nostril) For ages 16 and up.

What piercings can I get at 14?

14 years of age or older with parental consent and proper identification

  • Earlobe piercings (no larger than 10 gauge)
  • Ear cartilage piercings.
  • Navel piercings.
  • Facial piercings.
  • Oral piercings.

What do you need to be a piercer in California?

Minimum Requirements of a Piercing Apprenticeship

  • 100 hours of documented procedure observation. This should include no fewer than 100 piercing procedures.
  • 50 piercings performed under mentor supervision.
  • Required Education:

Where is safest place to get ears pierced?

Any piercing, no matter who administers it, is a risk. Shopping mall kiosks are generally safe places to get your ears pierced, but it’s still a risk. You can schedule an appointment to have your ears pierced by a dermatologist or other healthcare professional.

How old do you have to be to get a piercing without parental consent in California?

18 years
(a) It shall be an infraction for any person to perform or offer to perform body piercing upon a person under the age of 18 years, unless the body piercing is performed in the presence of, or as directed by a notarized writing by, the person’s parent or guardian.

At what age can you get a piercing in California?

Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – It is unlawful to provide tattoo or body piercing services to anyone under age 18 without the consent of the parent or guardian who is present at the time of the procedure.

How old do you have to be to get a piercing in California?

Can minors get piercings?

In Alberta, there is no law that says how old you have to be to get a body piercing. However, getting a piercing technically requires entering into a contract. As such, many piercing facilities require that you be at least 18 years old to get a piercing without parental consent.

How much do piercers make in California?

How much does a Piercer make in California? The average Piercer salary in California is $42,729 as of November 29, 2021, but the range typically falls between $36,434 and $49,743.

How do you become a certified ear piercer?

These requirements vary depending on the studio and the piercer, but the APP recommends a minimum of:

  1. 1,200 hours working under a mentor, observing piercings, filling out paperwork and sanitizing tools.
  2. 100 hours of piercing observation, including at least 100 body piercings of various types in different locations.

Is gunshot ear piercing safe?

Most guns force blunt-ended studs through the tissue of your ears, a painful process that can cause damage. Piercing guns should never be used to pierce any area of the body except an earlobe. Do not use them on the harder cartilage of the ear. Ear cartilage can be shattered by guns.

What is the legal age to get a piercing in California?

No current age limits on piercings. No tattooing, branding, or body piercing of minors under the age of 14. Minors aged 14-18 need the written consent and the presence of the parent or legal guardian to receive a piercing or tattoo.

Is it legal to use a piercing gun for ear piercing?

Piercing guns, legally known as mechanical stud and clasp ear piercing devices, are excepted from most body piercing regulations because their piercings are not considered to be body art under state law. That being said, the devices are still covered by the Safe Body Art Act.

Are ear piercings sanitary?

By law, the device must be sanitary and the jewelry used must be made of the same piercing-quality materials used in other body piercings. Piercing guns can only be used on ears, and those that use the devices must receive one hour of training on use of the device, proper hand hygiene and bloodborne pathogens.

What are the California tattoo laws for minors?

While California tattoo laws prohibit minors under the age of 18 from getting a tattoo even with their parents’ permission, body piercings are allowed as long as the juvenile’s parents consent and are present during the piercing. That being said, nipple and genital piercings are against the law for all minors, even with parental consent.