Which areas are scheduled areas?

At present, 10 States namely Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan and Telangana have Fifth Schedule Areas.

What is the meaning of scheduled area?

Scheduled Areas are areas in India with a preponderance of tribal population subject to a special governance mechanism wherein the central government plays a direct role in safeguarding cultural and economic interests of scheduled tribes in the area.

What is the difference between scheduled caste and scheduled tribe?

Scheduled Castes (SCs), also known as Dalits, are traditionally and socially marginalised in India, where they face injustice as a result of their low caste status. Scheduled Tribes (STs), also known as Adivasis or tribal groups, are socially banned in India and face discrimination because of their race.

Who are included in Scheduled Tribes?

In accordance with The Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes Orders (Amendment) Act, 1976 and as inserted by Act 39 of 1991.

  • Adiyan.
  • Barda.
  • Bavacha, Bamcha.
  • Bhil, Bhil Garasia, Dholi Bhil, Dungri Bhil, Dungri Garasia, Mewasi Bhil, Rawal Bhil, Tadvi Bhil, Bhagalia, Bhilala, Pawra, Vasava, Vasave.
  • Chenchu, Chenchwar.
  • Chodhara.

What are 5th Schedule areas?

The Fifth Schedule designates tribal majority areas in ten tribal minority states within peninsular India including, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, and Rajasthan.

What is tribal Advisory Council?

The Tribes Advisory Council (TAC) is an institutional mechanism embedded in para 4 of the. Fifth Schedule to the Constitution of India to take up the issues of tribal population in the respective states in the country and take decisions upon it and forward the same to the Governor for its review.

Why tribals are called Scheduled Tribes?

Why the name “Scheduled Tribes”? The tribal communities in India have been recognized by the Indian Constitution under ‘Schedule 5’ of the constitution. Hence the tribes recognized by the Constitution are known as ‘Scheduled Tribes’.

How many scheduled tribes are there?

The Scheduled Tribes are notified in 30 States/UTs and the number of individual ethnic groups, etc. notified as Scheduled Tribes is 705.

Which caste comes in SC category?

List of Scheduled Castes

Official name as SC Dates States where have SC status
Barar, Burar, Berar 1950 designated Punjab (1950)
Batwal 1950 designated Punjab (1950)
Bauria, Bawaria 1950 designated Punjab (1950)
Bazigar 1950 designated Punjab (1950) Haryana (1950) Himachal Pradesh (1950) Rajasthan (1950, grouped with Madari)

What is Indian tribal land?

The Central India Tribal Belt stretches from Gujarat in the west up to Assam in the east across the states of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand. It is among the poorest regions of the country. Over 90% of the Belt’s tribal population is rural, with primitive agriculture.

Which act kept most of the tribal areas administratively separate?

Article 244 deals with the administration of Scheduled areas and Tribal areas. The provisions of the Fifth Schedule of the constitution apply to the administration and control of the scheduled areas and scheduled tribes in any state other than the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.

What are scheduled areas Upsc?

Scheduled and Tribal Areas – UPSC GS-II Notes. Article 244 (1) of the Indian Constitution defines Scheduled Areas as the areas defined so by the President of India and are mentioned in the fifth schedule of the Constitution. In India, there are 10 states having scheduled areas.

What are the provisions related to scheduled and tribal areas?

Part 10 of the Indian Constitution entails the provisions related to Scheduled and Tribal Areas with Articles 244 – 244 A. President is empowered to declare an area as Scheduled Area. With the consultation of the governor of the state, the President can alter, add, diminish the boundary of a Scheduled Area.

What are scheduled areas in India?

The areas inhabited by the socially and educationally backward ‘Aboriginals’ are called Scheduled Areas. Part 10 of the Indian Constitution entails the provisions related to Scheduled and Tribal Areas with Articles 244 – 244 A.

What is meant by the term ‘Tribal Area’?

However, the Constitution of India refers tribal areas within the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura & Mizoram, as those areas specified in Parts I, II, IIA & III of the table appended to paragraph 20 of the Sixth Schedule.” In other words, areas where provisions of Sixth Schedule are applicable are known as Tribal Areas.

What are the functions of Tribes Advisory Council?

The Governors of the State in which there are “Scheduled areas” have to submit reports to the President regarding the administration of such Areas, annually or whenever required by the President. Tribes Advisory Councils are to be constituted to give advice on such matters as welfare and advancement of the Scheduled Tribes.