Where is the Baltic Sea located?

Baltic Sea, German Ostsee, Swedish Östersjön, Russian Baltiyskoye More, Finnish Itämeri, Polish Morze Bałtyckie, arm of the North Atlantic Ocean, extending northward from the latitude of southern Denmark almost to the Arctic Circle and separating the Scandinavian Peninsula from the rest of continental Europe.

Which countries have Baltic Sea?

The EU Member States – Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Germany – and Russia are all directly bordering the Baltic Sea. Parts of Norway and Belarus, both no riparian countries, are in the catchment area of the Baltic Sea.

What is the Baltic Sea known for?

The Baltic Sea is a brackish inland sea, alleged to be the largest body of brackish water in the world (other possibilities include the Black Sea). It is known that since 1720, the Baltic Sea has frozen over entirely a total of 20 times – the most recent case was in early 1987.

Is Norway a Baltic country?

The countries that have shorelines along the Baltic Sea: Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Finland, Germany, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, and Sweden. The countries on the historical British trade route through the Baltic Sea, i.e. including the Scandinavian Peninsula (Sweden and Norway).

Where did the Baltic tribes come from?

Origins. The Balts or Baltic peoples, defined as speakers of one of the Baltic languages, a branch of the Indo-European language family, are descended from a group of Indo-European tribes who settled the area between the lower Vistula and southeast shore of the Baltic Sea and upper Daugava and Dnieper rivers.

Why is the Baltic Sea a dead zone?

The Baltic Sea is no stranger to dead zones. The dead zones are due largely to the Baltic’s limited circulation and strong layering of water, which stop oxygen from replenishing bottom waters. Since the 1950s, nutrient pollution from fertilizer and sewage has caused hypoxia in the Baltic to surge.

Where is Red Sea located?

The Red Sea has a surface area of roughly 438,000 km2 (169,100 mi2), is about 2250 km (1398 mi) long, and — at its widest point — 355 km (220.6 mi) wide….

Red Sea
Red Sea coast at Makadi Bay
Location North Africa, East Africa and Western Asia
Coordinates 22°N 38°ECoordinates: 22°N 38°E
Type Sea

Where are the 7 seas?

The Seven Seas include the Arctic, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, North Pacific, South Pacific, Indian, and Southern oceans. The exact origin of the phrase ‘Seven Seas’ is uncertain, although there are references in ancient literature that date back thousands of years.

What is Baltic nationality?

Their traditional names are Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia and represent the core of Baltic genealogy. The Baltic people are associated with the Slavic and German people. One of their languages is the Old Prussian, which is a form of the Slavic language.

What did the Baltic people look like?

“In Latgale, the percentage could be even higher because it is precisely there that people have retained the classic look of the ancient Balts: a large body, high forehead and large cheek bones.” It has therefore been called the Baltic ethnic genetic mark.

What are the three cities located on the Baltic Sea?

The Gulf of Finland is the easternmost part of the Baltic Sea, almost three hundred miles long, located between Finland (Helsinki), Estonia (Tallinn) and Russia (St. Petersburg)–all three capital cities were once part of the Russian Empire. The main rivers flowing into the Gulf are the Narva and Neva.

What city is Baltic Sea located in?

The Baltic sea is located at Petersburg Volgograd city. You have to be more specific. There are many, many cities by the Baltic sea, but the four biggest are Stockholm, St Petersburg, Helenski, and Copenhagen.

What countries are on the Baltic Sea?

The Baltic Sea borders Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Russia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Germany. The Baltic Sea is an arm of the northern Atlantic Ocean that separates the Scandinavian Peninsula from the rest of Europe.

Where did the Baltic Sea get its name?

Its name comes from its relationship to the land of the Frisians (see Frisia ). They live directly to the south of the North Sea, and to the west of the East Sea (Oostzee, the Baltic Sea), the former South Sea (Zuiderzee, today’s IJsselmeer ) and the today reclaimed Middle Sea (Middelzee).