What is the level of sedation?

​Continuum of Depth of Sedation: Definition of General Anesthesia and Levels of Sedation/Analgesia

Minimal Sedation Anxiolysis Moderate Sedation/ Analgesia (“Conscious Sedation”)
Airway Unaffected No intervention required
Spontaneous Ventilation Unaffected Adequate
Cardiovascular Function Unaffected Usually maintained

Does sedation require intubation?

Unless the patient is already unconscious or if there is a rare medical reason to avoid sedation, patients are typically sedated for intubation. Intubation is a medical procedure used by doctors to keep the airway open or safe during a medical emergency or a surgical procedure.

What’s the difference between anesthesia and sedation?

Sedation, together with analgesia, amnesia and muscle paralysis, is the end result of general anesthesia, which is an induced, reversible and controlled loss of consciousness. Sedation, on its own, is the depression of awareness, whereby a patient response to external stimuli becomes limited.

What is sedation level1?

Level 1 sedation is also known as minimal sedation or conscious sedation. According to the American Dental Association, this sedation is a minimally depressed level of consciousness produced by prescribed medication.

What drugs are best for conscious sedation?


  • Fentanyl.
  • Ketamine.
  • Propofol (Diprivan) Propofol is a hypnotic sedative agent used in both adults and children.
  • Etomidate (Amidate) Etomidate is a hypnotic sedative agent useful in adults with hypotension and trauma.
  • What are the different types of sedation?

    Oral sedation. This is the taking of medication in tablet form before treatment begins.

  • Inhalation Sedation/Relative Analgesia. Inhalation sedation is where a patient breathes in the sedative in the form of a gas.
  • IV Sedation. IV sedation is where sedatives are injected intravenously (directly into a vein) just before treatment.
  • What is the difference between oral and IV sedation?

    Oral sedation is one of the available methods of conscious sedation dentistry, along with inhalation sedation (e.g., nitrous oxide) and conscious intravenous sedation. Benzodiazepines are commonly used, specifically triazolam.

    What are the four levels of anesthesia?

    There are 4 levels of sedation and anesthesia when a patient receives moderate or deep sedation or general or regional anesthesia. Some of the drugs used to induce anesthesia can be given in a lesser amount to produce sedation.