What county is Charlotte Mecklenburg?

Mecklenburg County

What cities make up Mecklenburg County?

Mecklenburg County Overview Mecklenburg County is comprised of seven municipalities including the City of Charlotte and the towns of Cornelius, Davidson, Huntersville, Matthews, Mint Hill, and Pineville. Mecklenburg County is the perfect place for home buyers who want to live near the big city of Charlotte.

How much of Mecklenburg County is Charlotte?

Charlotte, with an estimated 2018 population of 841,611 is the largest city in the state and occupies 303 of the county’s 527 square miles.

How many counties are in Charlotte?

Charlotte is surrounded by seven different counties, each with a plethora of different towns, cities and townships.

What area is Mecklenburg County NC?

546 mi²
Mecklenburg County/Area

What is Mecklenburg County named after?

Charlotte Sophia
Mecklenburg County, located in North Carolina’s Piedmont region, was formed from Anson County in 1762 and took its name from the German duchy of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, home of the wife of King George III, Charlotte Sophia.

What is Mecklenburg County known for?

Today Charlotte is one of the most populous metropolises in the southeastern United States. The Mint Museum of Art, the Charlotte Repertory Theater, the Charlotte Symphony Orchestra, and Opera Carolina add to the cultural fabric of Mecklenburg County.

What is the racial makeup of Mecklenburg County NC?

The racial makeup of the county was 64.02% White, 27.87% Black or African American, 0.35% American Indian/Alaska Native, 3.15% Asian, 0.05% Pacific Islander, 3.01% from other races, and 1.55% from two or more races.

How many children live in Mecklenburg?


Population, Census, April 1, 2020 1,115,482
Population, Census, April 1, 2010 919,628
Age and Sex
Persons under 5 years, percent  6.6%

What county is Jacksonville NC in?

Onslow County
The City of Jacksonville is the commercial hub of Onslow County and home to MarineCorps Base Camp Lejeune and Marine Corps Air Station New River.

What is the county seat of Mecklenburg County?

Its county seat is Charlotte, and is the state’s largest city. Mecklenburg County is the central county of the Charlotte- Concord – Gastonia, NC- SC Metropolitan Statistical Area. On September 12, 2013, the county welcomed its one millionth resident.

What resources are available to employees in Mecklenburg County?

Employee Access myTIME – Mecklenburg County’s Web Clock Time Collection System. Office 365 Portal – Email and Calendar Access. MyHR – Mecklenburg County Human Resources Portal. MeckWeb – Mecklenburg County Intranet. MeckSupport – Mecklenburg County Technical Support. MeckTalent – (formerly MeckEDU) Mecklenburg County’s Online Learning System.

Where does the name Mecklenburg come from?

Like its seat, the county is named after Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, Queen of the United Kingdom, whose name is derived from the region of Mecklenburg in Germany, itself deriving its name from Mecklenburg Castle (Mecklenburg meaning “large castle” in Low German) in the village of Dorf Mecklenburg .

What is Mecklenburg County’s GIS apps gallery?

Mecklenburg County’s GIS Apps Gallery features a suite of web and mobile-friendly apps for citizens and business users. Your browser must be set to allow pop-ups from our gallery.