How do I register my dog in El Paso?

You can license your pet at most veterinary offices, or you can purchase a license for your pet at the Animal Services Center seven days a week from 11 am to 6 pm.

Do I need to register my dog in Texas?

City pet licenses are required for all dogs and cats 4 months of age and older. The pet license will expire on the same date as the animals rabies vaccination certificate. Texas State Law requires all dogs and cats to have current rabies vaccinations.

How do I register my dog in Texas?

The city issues a metal registration tag, which must be attached to your pet’s collar or harness. To register your pet, you need a current rabies vaccination. If your pet is neutered or spayed, it’s $5, or $15 for intact pets.

What age do you register your dog?

three months old
You must register your dog before it turns three months old. Register your dog at the address where it spends most of its time. You must microchip your dog within two months of registering it. If you are under 16 years old, you must register the dog under your parent’s or guardian’s name.

Where do I report animal cruelty in El Paso TX?

Animal abuse and neglect are crimes and therefore must be handled by the appropriate enforcement agency. If you see an animal that you think is in danger and you live within the city limits of El Paso, call the El Paso Police Department at 832-4400 and El Paso Animal Services at 212-PAWS (212-7297).

How many dogs are you allowed to own in Texas?

How many dogs can you legally own in Texas? If you live in a single family home on less than a half an acre, the limit is six (6) dogs and/or cats. If you live in a single family home on more than half an acre, the limit is eight (8) dogs and/or cats.

How much it cost to get papers on your dog?


Registration paper late fees – add to selection above:

Do dogs have to have a tag?

Absolutely. It is a legal requirement for dogs to wear a collar in public. By law, when a dog is in a public place, it must wear a collar. This – or a tag attached to the collar – must also bear its owner’s name and address.

How many animals can you have in El Paso?

Residents of Colorado Springs and El Paso County can own a maximum of four adult dogs and four adult cats. Under this law, an ‘adult’ is considered to be a dog or cat at least four months old.

Can I bury my dog in my backyard in Texas?

The answer to the question of if you can bury your pet in your backyard is yes, most cities only require property owners to bury that remains of their animals at least three to four feet in the ground but you should still verify with your city or county first before attempting to bury the remains of your pet.

What are the licensing requirements for El Paso County pets?

El Paso County licensing requirements apply to county residents living outside of city limits but within designated resolution areas – all dogs over the age of 4 months; cat licensing is strongly encouraged

How do I find the owner of a dog in El Paso?

Take the pet to a local veterinarian, Petco or an El Paso Fire station to have the pet scanned for a microchip. If the pet has a microchip, you can attempt looking up the owner’s information using this free microchip lookup tool. File a “Found Pet Report” on our website or by calling 311.

How do I report a stray dog in El Paso?

Our Animal Protection Officers respond to calls within the areas of El Paso city limits, however stray pets from El Paso County, Ysleta del Sur Pueblo and Fort Bliss will be brought to the Animal Services Center. To report an animal-related concern or emergency within the city of El Paso, call 311.

Are service dogs required to be registered in Texas?

Service dogs are not required to be registered or certified by the State of Texas. The Americans with Disabilities Act is a federal law that clearly states service dogs are allowed to accompany their handler in public places by simply stating their dog is a service dog.