What is the order of seniority in the Catholic Church?

As noted above, the first consideration for precedence is always the hierarchy of order: first bishops, then presbyters, next deacons. At earlier times in the Church’s history, deacons were ranked above presbyters, or the two orders considered equal, but the bishop always came first.

What are the six divisions in the Catholic Church?


  • 3.1 Holy See, papacy, Roman Curia, and College of Cardinals.
  • 3.2 Canon law.
  • 3.3 Latin and Eastern churches.
  • 3.4 Dioceses, parishes, organisations and institutes.
  • 3.5 Membership.

Is a bishop higher than a cardinal?

In the Catholic Church, archbishops and bishops rank below cardinals. Becoming a bishop is the third and fullest level of the Sacrament of Holy Orders. The first level is the ordination of a deacon, the second is the ordination of a priest, and the third is the ordination of a bishop.

Who is below the Pope?

Under the pope are bishops, who serve the pope as successors to the original 12 apostles who followed Jesus. There are also cardinals, who are appointed by the pope, and only they can elect his successor. Cardinals also govern the church between papal elections.

What is the difference between an archbishop and a cardinal?

Cardinal: Appointed by the pope, 178 cardinals worldwide, including 13 in the U.S., make up the College of Cardinals. As a body, it advises the pope and, on his death, elects a new pope. Archbishop: An archbishop is a bishop of a main or metropolitan diocese, also called an archdiocese.

What is the hierarchy order of the Catholic Church?

Hierarchy of the Catholic Church: The Pope to the Laity The Pope. At the head of the Catholic Church is the Pope. Cardinals. Ranking just below the Pope are Cardinals. Archbishops. Below cardinals are the archbishops. Bishops. Bishops assist in ministries. Priests. Priests are responsible for the day-to-day running of individual churches. Deacons. Deacons are ordained ministers.

What is the hierarchy structure of the Catholic Church?

The Hierarchy of the Catholic Church consists of its bishops, priests, and deacons. In the ecclesiological sense of the term, hierarchy strictly means the holy ordering of the Church, the Body of Christ, so to respect the diversity of gifts and ministries necessary for genuine unity.

What are the ranks of the Catholic Church?

There are four heirarchical ranks in the Catholic Church. The head is the Pope, followed by cardinals, bishops, and then your every Sunday priest.

What is the ranking in the Catholic Church?

The Rank of Officials in the Catholic Church The Pope. The Pope, also referred to as the Bishop of Rome, resides in the Vatican and is the highest earthly authority in the Catholic hierarchy. Bishops. Bishops are ordained ministers who oversee established jurisdictions. Priests. Priests are the heads of individual parishes, and they exercise ministry with the instruction of their bishop. Deacons.