What horse won the Cox Plate?

List of Cox Plate winners

Year Winner Time
2019 Lys Gracieux 2:04.21
2018 Winx 2:03.47
2017 Winx 2:02.94
2016 Winx 2:06.35

What horse has run the fastest Cox Plate?

WS Cox Plate Records: 2:02.94 set by Winx in 2016 on the current track. Prior to the installation of this track Better Loosen Up ran 2:01.05 in 1990.

How many mares have won the Cox Plate?

The most successful Cox Plate horse in history was four-time hero Winx, the mighty mare winning the race from 2015-18. Prior to Winx, Kingston Town (1980-82) won the Cox Plate three times….Past Cox Plate Winners.

Winner Makybe Diva
Weight 55.5 kg
Sex Mare
Age 7
Time 2:09.27

How many horses have won the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup?

The double with the Melbourne Cup has only been achieved by seven horses: Makybe Diva, Might and Power, Saintly, Nightmarch, Phar Lap, Delta and Rising Fast. Only three horses have ever won the Melbourne Cup and then gone on to win the Cox Plate the following year: Phar Lap, Might and Power and Makybe Diva.

What horse won the Cox Plate last year?

Winx. She won four times from 2015 – 2018 and her 2016 Cox Plate time of 2:02.94 is the record for the current track. Better Loosen Up ran 2:01.5 in 1990, which underscores the perplexity of comparing horses from different eras when different track conditions and other variables are factored in.

How many Cox Plates has Chris Waller?

four victories
Famous Cox Plate Trainers Chris Waller is currently on four victories and could well increase that number in the coming years.

Did Phar Lap win a Cox Plate?

Phar Lap (4 October 1926 – 5 April 1932) was a champion New Zealand-bred Thoroughbred racehorse who is widely regarded as New Zealand’s greatest racehorse ever. He won the Melbourne Cup, two Cox Plates, the Australian Derby, and 19 other weight for age races.

How much is the Cox Plate worth?

The prizemoney for the Group 1 Cox Plate is $5 million, in which the winner takes home $3 million.

Who came third in the Cox Plate?

Verry Elleegant
After race favourite Zaaki was scratched, the door was thrown open for a shock result in the $5 million Group 1 at The Valley, and that’s what we got. State Of Rest came out on top, with Anamoe coming up just short, while Verry Elleegant came in third, and Mo’unga took fourth.

Who is Chris Waller married to?

Initially the Waller household could only rely on the earnings of his wife Stephanie from her modelling career, but slowly the Sydney racing establishment began to notice that there was a young Kiwi making a great fist of the training out at Rosehill: and he seemed to be a nice guy, and honest too.

Which horses won the Cox Plate in 2005?

At the 800m of the 2005 Cox Plate. Left to right: Xcellent, God’s Own, Makybe Diva (winner), Confectioner, Fields of Omagh (3rd place), Outback Prince, Greys Inn, Lotteria (Runner up), Desert War and Hotel Grand. Behind the wall of horses are: Lad of the Manor, Super Kid, Sky Cuddle and Tosen Dandy.

What is the history of the Cox Plate?

The WS Cox Plate was a Principal Race until 1979 then Group 1. The race is named after the club’s founder who had the land where Moonee Valley is in 1882. It is the most prestigious WFA race in Australia run at the Championship distance. In 1946 the race was divided into two divisions won by Leonard and Flight with the latter a grand mare.

What is the distance of the Cox Plate in Australia?

Following Australia’s adoption of the Metric system in 1972 the race distance became 2,000 metres. In 1974 the distance was changed to 2,050 metres and in 1986 to today’s distance of 2,040 metres. † The 1946 Cox Plate was run in two divisions. ^ “2020 Result – Ladbrokes Cox Plate (held 24 October 2020) “. breednet.com. Retrieved 29 August 2021.