What constituency is Telford in?

Telford (UK Parliament constituency)

Borough constituency for the House of Commons
Boundary of Telford in Shropshire
Location of Shropshire within England
County Shropshire

Who is the MP of Telford?

Lucy Elizabeth Allan (born 2 October 1964) is a Conservative Party British politician, who is the Member of Parliament (MP) for Telford, and a family rights campaigner.

Who is the MP for Shifnal?

The Wrekin (UK Parliament constituency)

The Wrekin
Major settlements Albrighton, Cosford, Shifnal, Wellington
Current constituency
Created 1918
Member of Parliament Mark Pritchard (Conservative)

How many constituencies are there in Shropshire?

There are five parliamentary constituencies in this area; Shrewsbury and Atcham, North Shropshire, Ludlow, The Wrekin and Telford. Each constituency has one MP. Follow the links below for full contact details of the MP representing your constituency.

Is Telford a new town?

If one possible answer to this question is “when it’s 50 years old”, then Telford in Shropshire is indeed no longer a new town. This explains why Telford is where it is – 30 miles north west of Birmingham and 19 miles from Wolverhampton. The first generation of new towns came during the years immediately after the war.

What county is Telford?

Telford, new town and urban area (from 2011 built-up area), Telford and Wrekin unitary authority, geographic and historic county of Shropshire, western England. It lies north and east of the hill of the Wrekin, which has an elevation of 1,335 feet (407 metres).

Who is the MP for Putney?

Kathleen Fleur Anderson (born 6 February 1971) is a British politician who has served as Member of Parliament (MP) for Putney since 2019….Fleur Anderson.

Fleur Anderson MP
Member of Parliament for Putney
Assumed office 12 December 2019
Preceded by Justine Greening

Who is the MP for Northwich Cheshire?

Weaver Vale is a constituency in Cheshire represented in the House of Commons of the UK Parliament since 2017 by Mike Amesbury, a member of the Labour Party….Weaver Vale (UK Parliament constituency)

Weaver Vale
Major settlements Northwich, Runcorn New Town and Frodsham
Current constituency
Created 1997
Member of Parliament Mike Amesbury (Labour)

Who is the MP for Beckenham?

Robert Alexander Stewart, DSO PC (born 7 July 1949) is a British politician and Member of Parliament (MP) for Beckenham since 2010.

Where is the Wrekin in Telford?

east Shropshire
The Wrekin /ˈriːkɪn/ is a hill in east Shropshire, England. It is located some five miles (8 km) west of Telford, on the border between the unitary authorities of Shropshire and Telford and Wrekin.

What was Owen Paterson’s constituency?

A member of the Conservative Party, he served as Member of Parliament (MP) for North Shropshire from 1997 until his resignation in 2021.

Is Telford Black Country?

Telford Plaza, Telford, western England. Dawley, now part of Telford, was designated a new town in 1963 to draw off population and industry from the city of Birmingham and the adjacent industrial region known (because of its pollution-coated landscapes) as the Black Country.

Who is the current MP for Telford?

Telford is a constituency represented in the House of Commons of the UK Parliament since May 2015 by Lucy Allan, a Conservative, who defeated David Wright, the former Labour Party MP for the seat.

When was Telford first held by Labour?

Created from the more rural Wrekin constituency for the 1997 general election, Telford was continuously held by the Labour Party, with a change in candidate in 2001, until the 2015 general election when the Conservatives took the seat from David Wright.

Is Telford in Telford and Wrekin?

However, not all of the Telford New Town developments are in the constituency; the northern parts and some western areas (including the town of Wellington) which pre-dates Telford, are in The Wrekin constituency. All of the constituency is covered by Telford and Wrekin Borough Council .

Who was the first Conservative Member of Parliament in 1997?

Telford Created 1997 Member of Parliament Lucy Allan ( Conservative) Number of members One Created from The Wrekin