What are wildlife laws?

There are several general types of federal laws that impact wildlife: Laws to protect specific species or types of species, such as the Endangered Species Act, Bald and Golden Eagle Protection Act, and Marine Mammal Protection Act; federal acts which implement the terms of international treaties regarding wildlife.

How many Schedules are there in wildlife protection Act?

six schedules
It has six schedules which give varying degrees of protection. Schedule I and part II of Schedule II provide absolute protection – offences under these are prescribed the highest penalties. Species listed in Schedule III and Schedule IV are also protected, but the penalties are much lower.

What was the first wildlife protection law?

Lacey Act: Originally enacted in 1900, this is usually considered America’s first wildlife protection law.

How can we maintain wildlife?


  1. Plant trees. Trees recycle oxygen, returning it to the atmosphere for us to breathe and absorbing potentially harmful gases along the way.
  2. Keep it clean.
  3. Pick up trash.
  4. Adopt an animal.
  5. Take action.
  6. Donate.
  7. Stay Informed.

What are the five basic habitat needs for wildlife?

In order for wildlife to thrive there are 5 basic components that they require and that the habitat must provide.

  • Food. All animals need food.
  • Water. All animals need water.
  • Cover. All animals need cover to travel, rest, breed, feed, and nest.
  • Space.

What are the legal provisions for wildlife protection?

These include Indian Penal Code, 1960; Code of Criminal Procedure, 1974; Indian Forest Act, 1927; Customs Act, 1962; Forest (Conservation) Act, 1981, Environment (Protection) Act, 1986, Prevention of Cruelty to Animal Act, 1960, The Biological Diversity Act, 2002 and Arms Act, 1959 which also has provisions related to …

What is citations and its purpose?

CITES, which stands for the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, is a global agreement among governments to regulate or ban international trade in species under threat.