How much does a 911 dispatcher make in North Carolina?
While ZipRecruiter is seeing salaries as high as $240,530 and as low as $14,882, the majority of 911 Dispatcher salaries currently range between $21,317 (25th percentile) to $26,144 (75th percentile) with top earners (90th percentile) making $27,351 annually in North Carolina.
Do 911 dispatchers make good money?
The average 911 Dispatcher salary in California is $47,500 as of November 29, 2021, but the range typically falls between $40,300 and $51,700.
How many hours do 911 operators work a week?
911 Operator Earnings and Hours Dispatchers usually work in shifts of between eight and 12 hours, although some have shifts as long as 24 hours. They are often required to work on weekends and holidays.
What are 3 pros to being a 911 dispatcher?
The top ten reasons why I’m still a dispatcher
- 10) It’s a steady job.
- 9) Pay and benefits.
- 8) The dating pool.
- 7) I get to talk with nice people on the phone.
- 6) There is a lot of interesting reading material as part of my job.
- 5) I get to tell cops, firemen, and paramedics what to do.
- 4) I like handling ‘hot calls’.
How do you become a 911 dispatcher in North Carolina?
Becoming a 911 Dispatcher in North Carolina North Carolina sets minimum training requirements for emergency dispatchers, termed “telecommunicators”. Training is brief and is not mandated until after hire. Before hire, a telecommunicator will need to meet a more general set of requirements.
What does the North Carolina 911 board do?
The North Carolina 911 Board administers the North Carolina 911 Fund, which goes to support equipment purchases for 911 centers in the state. See the N.C. 911 Board’s work with emergency personnel and communication centers around the state. See more highlights.
Is dispatch training mandatory for law enforcement officers?
The Association of Public-Safety Communications Officers (APCO International) reports that training is mandatory for those who work under the jurisdiction of sheriffs. Sheriff’s offices often handle multiple types of dispatch; thus, this mandate applies to more than just law enforcement dispatch.
How do I become a certified telecommunicator in North Carolina?
The North Carolina Board mandates training for all telecommunicators who work at Public Safety Access Points (PSAPs). Training must be certified by the state by or an approved national organization. The basic program must comprise at least 40 hours and must include eight hours of hands-on training.