Which country is Cyprus in?

Republic of Cyprus
Cyprus, formerly known as The Republic of Cyprus, is a small island country that is located in the Mediterranean Sea. The capital of Cyprus is Nicosia, and also serves as the nation’s largest city….Population.

Official Name Republic of Cyprus
Region Europe
Subregion Eastern EuropeThe Middle East
cca2 CY
cca3 CYP

What city is Cyprus?


What is the name of Cyprus capital city?


Nicosia, Greek Lefkosía, Turkish Lefkoşa, city and capital of the Republic of Cyprus. It lies along the Pedieos River, in the centre of the Mesaoria Plain between the Kyrenia Mountains (north) and the Troodos range (south).

What are the names of states in Cyprus?

Districts of Cyprus

District Population (2011 census) Area (km2)
Larnaca (Λάρνακα; Larnaka) 145,365 1,120.1
Limassol (Λεμεσός; Limasol or Leymosun) 239,842 1,393.3
Nicosia (Λευκωσία; Lefkoşa) 334,120 2,710.0
Paphos (Πάφος; Baf or Gazibaf) 90,295 1,389.8

Is Cyprus part of Europe or Asia?

By its political inclinations and membership in the European Union, Cyprus is a European country. However, it is an Asian country as per its geographical placement. This makes Cyprus a transcontinental country.

Is Cyprus in Greece?

Cyprus has always had close ties with Greece, which is also why many people consider the island to be a part of Greece. Greece and Cyprus share the same language, culture and religion but Cyprus remains an independent country. From 1925 until 1960 Cyprus was under the British Rule and was made a British colony.

How many city are there in Cyprus?

List of the largest cities of Cyprus. There are six major cities in Cyprus, each one of them serving as the capital of the six districts of Cyprus.

Which is the largest city in Cyprus?

The largest cities in Cyprus are Nicosia, Limassol, Larnaca, Famagusta, Paphos and Kyrenia….District capitals.

English Nicosia
Greek Λευκωσία (Lefkosia)
Turkish Lefkoşa
Other (other names in Turkish: Lefkoşa)

Is Cyprus part of the UK?

Cyprus gained its independence from the United Kingdom in 1960, after 82 years of British control. The two countries now enjoy warm relations, however the continuing British sovereignty of the Akrotiri and Dhekelia Sovereign Base Areas has continued to divide Cypriots.

What is Cyprus famous for?

Cyprus, Greek Kípros, Turkish Kıbrıs, an island in the eastern Mediterranean Sea renowned since ancient times for its mineral wealth, superb wines and produce, and natural beauty.