What is in the South region?

As defined by the U.S. federal government, it includes Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

What is the South region called?

The Southern United States, also referred to as the Southern States, the American South, Dixie, the Southland, or simply the South, is a geographic and cultural region of the United States of America.

What cities are in the southern region?

These are some of the major cities in the South.

  • Atlanta.
  • Birmingham.
  • Charleston.
  • Charlotte.
  • Louisville.
  • Memphis.
  • Nashville.
  • New Orleans.

What are the 5 regions of the USA?

A common way of referring to regions in the United States is grouping them into 5 regions according to their geographic position on the continent: the Northeast, Southwest, West, Southeast, and Midwest.

What did the southern region do?

Especially in coastal areas, southern settlers grew wealthy by raising and selling cotton and tobacco. The most economical way to raise these crops was on large farms, called plantations, which required the work of many laborers.

Where is the South in the US?

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the South is composed of Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, Kentucky, West Virginia, Maryland, the District of Columbia, Delaware, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia—and Florida.

What are 3 facts about the southern region?

Interesting Facts about the Southern United States Numerous U.S. presidents were born in the South. The South is known for having a warm climate. The South has over 125 million residents. The District of Columbia is part of the South.

What is a fun fact about the South region?

Fun Facts about the Southern United States for Kids Swamps cover one-fifth of Florida. Here you can see manatees, alligators and the Florida panther. Memphis, Tennessee is the birthplace of jazz and blues music. The Appalachian Mountains run through Virginia, West Virginia and North Carolina.

What are facts about the South region?

Known as the South, the southern region of the United States contains 17 states, enjoys a warm climate and produces several indigenous crops. Indian, African-American, French, Spanish and Mexican influences contribute to the southern region’s food.

What are facts about the South region in the US?

25 Craziest Facts About the South 1 One North Carolina woman still receives pension checks for the Civil War. 2 There’s an island in South Carolina where only monkeys are allowed. 4 People in South Carolina weren’t allowed to get tattoos until 2004. 5 The world’s largest drive-in restaurant is in Georgia.

What states are Southern Region?

The Southern Region makes up the third region of the United States. These states are to the south and west of the Mid-Atlantic Region. The states in the Southern Region include: Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, Delaware, Maryland, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, Arkansas, Louisiana, Florida, Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi.

What are the natural resources of South region?

South America’s major natural resources are gold, silver, copper, iron ore, tin, and oil. The many resources of South America have brought high income to its countries especially in times of war or of rapid economic growth by industrialized countries elsewhere.