Are electric golf carts street legal in Florida?
In Florida, LSVs are restricted to public streets with a maximum speed limit of 35 mph. Because of federal law,dealers cannot legally sell the vehicles to go faster than 25 mph. Any vehicle modified to exceed 25 mph becomes subject to safety requirements of passenger cars.
Are electric golf carts worth it?
Electric Golf Cart Benefits Electric golf carts produce no emissions. Thus, they are friendlier to the environment. As well, electric golf carts cost less to maintain and operate because recharging them is less expensive than buying gas for a gas cart and because they do not require as much constant maintenance.
How much do golf carts cost in Florida?
On average, most golf carts will cost between $8,000 and $9,000. However, some golf carts can be priced as low as the $2,500/$3,000 range and some luxury golf carts can be priced at over $20,000.
How do I make my golf cart street legal in Florida?
To title and register an LSV, take the following documents to a Motor Vehicle Service Center:
- Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin;
- Form HSMV 82040 (Application for Title);
- Proof of Florida insurance (minimum $10,000 PDL and $10, 000 PIP);
- Identification – driver license, ID card or passport; and.
- Applicable fees.
Where are golf carts allowed in Florida?
Driving a golf cart on any public road is only allowed if that county or city has its own rules allowing them. Section 320.01(41), Florida Statutes, defines a low speed vehicle as “any four-wheeled vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 miles per hour, but not greater than 25 miles per hour.”
Is it better to buy a gas or electric golf cart?
Both gas and electric carts have their purposes. If you want to drive long distances, or use the cart where you wont have access to electricity, a gas cart may be a better option. Electric carts are great for their lower cost, quiet, fast ride, and less maintenance.
Do you need a license plate for a golf cart in Florida?
Golf carts are not required to be titled or registered and, therefore, are not required to be insured with PIP and PDL insurance coverage. Golf cart operators are not required to have a driver license; however, to operate a golf cart on designated public roadways, a person must be 14 years or older.