Who won the 2011/12 Europa League?

Atlético de Madrid
2011–12 UEFA Europa League/Champion

Atlético Madrid won the title, defeating Athletic Bilbao 3–0 in an all-Spanish final. Porto were the defending champions, but they were beaten by Manchester City in the Round of 32.

What happens if a top 4 team wins Europa?

Originally Answered: What happens if a top 4 team wins the Europa League? In case a team who has finished in top 4 also wins Europa, then there is no extra spot for more teams from that league. Instead teams from lower coefficient ranking leagues get to play in the CL group stages instead of playing the CL qualifiers.

What happens to 3rd place in Europa League Group?

The first round of the knockout phase also now involves only the group stage runners-up and the Champions League third-placed teams, with the group winners directly advancing to the round of 16.

What are the pots for the Europa League?

The pairings are as follows:

  • A Lyon & Marseille.
  • B Napoli & Lazio.
  • C Leverkusen & Frankfurt.
  • D Olympiacos & UECL.
  • E Monaco & UECL.
  • F Celtic & Rangers.
  • G Crvena zvezda & UECL.
  • H Leicester & West Ham.

Who won the Europa League 2010?

Atlético Madrid
Played at the HSH Nordbank Arena in Hamburg, Germany, on 12 May 2010, the match was won by Spain’s Atlético Madrid, who, after extra time, beat England’s Fulham 2–1. The win gave Atlético their second major European title, following the 1961-1962 European Cup Winners Cup.

Who won the Europa League 2013?

Chelsea F.C.
2012–13 UEFA Europa League/Champion
The match was played at the Amsterdam Arena in Amsterdam, Netherlands, on 15 May 2013, between Portuguese side Benfica and English side Chelsea. Chelsea won 2–1 to secure their first title in this competition.

Does 5th spot get Champions League?

Ordinarily, the Premier League sends its top four teams into the Champions League group stage. However, it also means that if they do finish in the top four, or if champions elect City lift the trophy, the team who finish fifth will be eligible for a place in the competition.

How does Europa League round of 32 work?

Teams are paired together for each round of the knockout phase, apart from the final, playing two matches at each team’s home stadium. Each match is known as a ‘leg’, with the group winners hosting the second leg in the Round of 32. The team that scores more goals over the two legs advances to the next round.

What does it mean to be seeded in the Europa League?

Seeding is based on an assumption that all seeded clubs progress for the following rounds. So if listed seeded club is eliminated = all clubs with worse coefficient go up in the seeding for the draw of after next rounds (but not in the following round due it is already drawn – see Article 4 in Format changes).

Who won the Europa League 2009?

2009–10 UEFA Europa League

Tournament details
Champions Atlético Madrid (1st title)
Runners-up Fulham
Tournament statistics
Matches played 205

Who won the Europa League 2008?

The final was played at the City of Manchester Stadium, Manchester, England on 14 May 2008 between Rangers of Scotland and Zenit Saint Petersburg of Russia. Zenit won the match 2–0, with goals from Igor Denisov and Konstantin Zyryanov, to claim their first UEFA Cup title.

How many teams participated in the 2011–12 Europa League?

A total of 194 teams from 53 UEFA associations participated in the 2011–12 UEFA Europa League. Associations are allocated places according to their 2010 UEFA country coefficients, which takes into account their performance in European competitions from 2005–06 to 2009–10. Below is the qualification scheme for the 2011–12 UEFA Europa League: Coeff.

What are the dates of the 2011 Champions League?

The matchdays are 15 September, 29 September, 20 October, 3 November, 30 November – 1 December, and 14–15 December 2011. The group winners and runners-up advanced to the round of 32, where they were joined by the 8 third-placed teams from the group stage of the 2011–12 UEFA Champions League .

When did the UEFA Europa League start and end?

It began on 30 June 2011 with the first legs of the first qualifying round, and ended on 9 May 2012 with the final held at Arena Națională in Bucharest, Romania. As part of a trial that started in the 2009–10 UEFA Europa League, two extra officials – one on each goal line – were used in all matches of the competition from the group stage.

What happened to Trabzonspor in the Champions League?

UEFA decided to replace them in the 2011–12 UEFA Champions League with Trabzonspor, the league runners-up, who had lost in the Champions League third qualifying round and were participating in the Europa League play-off round at that time. They finished third in their group and thus advanced to the 2011–12 UEFA Europa League knockout phase.