What is the history of the Sydney Swans football club?

The Sydney Swans is a professional Australian rules football club which plays in the Australian Football League (AFL). Established in Melbourne as the South Melbourne Football Club in 1874, the Swans relocated to Sydney in 1982, thus making it the first club in the competition to be based outside Victoria.

When did the Swans change their name to South Melbourne?

In 1982, the club was still technically a Melbourne-based club which played all of its home games in Sydney; however it dropped the name “South Melbourne” in June 1982, becoming known officially simply as “the Swans” for the rest of that season.

How successful was the Sydney Swans in the 1930s?

The club was at its most successful in the 1930s, when key recruits from both Victoria and interstate led to a string of appearances in the finals, including four successive grand final appearances from 1933 to 1936, albeit with only one premiership in 1933.

How many games has Sam Kekovich played for the Swans?

The 28-year-old has played 235 games since joining the Swans with pick 40 in the 2010 NAB AFL Draft. He was a member of the 2012 premiership team and has played in a total of 19 finals with the Swans.

Who was the captain of the Swans in their first SCG game?

Captain of the Swans in their first official game at the SCG was Barry Round, who in 1981 had shared the Brownlow Medal with good mate Bernie Quinlan from Fitzroy. In his 259 th game overall and his 124 th game in red and white, Round was one of only three 100-gamers in the Swans side.

When did the Sydney Swans win the Grand Final?

The Swans, originally based in South Melbourne were relocated to Sydney in 1982, winning their first Premiership as the Sydney Swans under the leadership of Paul Roos in 2005. The club went on to make the Grand Final again the following year only to fall short of back to back flags.