What are the 12 expressed powers of Congress?

Terms in this set (18)

  • Power to tax and spend for the defense & general welfare of the U.S.
  • Power to borrow money.
  • Power to regulate foreign and interstate commerce.
  • Establish naturalization and bankruptcy laws.
  • Power to coin money.
  • Punish counterfeiters of money and securities (stocks)
  • Establish post offices.

What are the 17 powers of Congress?

Terms in this set (17)

  • army. To raise and support Armies, but no Appropriation of Money to that Use shall be for a longer Term than two Years;
  • bankruptcy & naturalization.
  • 2 borrow.
  • coin.
  • commerce.
  • courts.
  • counterfeit.
  • DC.

How many powers were granted to Congress?

Congress is given 27 specific powers under Article I, Section 8, of the Constitution.

What are the 10 articles of the Constitution?

Articles of the Constitution

  • Article I Legislative Branch.
  • Article II Executive Branch.
  • Article III Judicial Branch.
  • Article IV Relationships Between the States.
  • Article V Amending the Constitution.
  • Article VI Prior Debts, National Supremacy, and Oaths of Office.
  • Article VII Ratification.

What are 5 examples of implied powers?

Terms in this set (19)

  • to borrow money.
  • establish federal reserve system of banks.
  • to lay and collect.
  • punish tax evaders.
  • to regulate (license) the sale of commodities (such as alcohol) and outlaw the use of others (such as narcotics)
  • require states to meet certain conditions to qualify for federal funding.

What are the 13 expressed powers of Congress?

Expressed Powers

  • to tax;
  • to coin money;
  • to regulate foreign and domestic commerce;
  • to raise and maintain an armed forces;
  • to fix standards of weights and measures;
  • to grant patents and copyrights;
  • to conduct foreign affairs; and.
  • to make treaties. . About.

What are the 5 enumerated powers of Congress?

The Powers of Congress

  • Power to tax and spend for the general welfare and the common defense.
  • Power to borrow money.
  • To regulate commerce with states, other nations, and Native American tribes.
  • Establish citizenship naturalization laws and bankruptcy laws.
  • Coin money.
  • Power to punish counterfeiters of money and stocks.

What are the first 5 articles of the Constitution?

In This Article

  • Article I – The Legislative Branch. The principal mission of the legislative branch is to make laws.
  • Article II – The Executive Branch.
  • Article III – The Judicial Branch.
  • Article IV – The States.
  • Article V – Amendment.
  • Article VI – Debts, Supremacy, Oaths.
  • Article VII – Ratification.

Which article and section says 9 states are needed to ratify the Constitution for it to become legal?

Article VII
Article VII stipulated that nine states had to ratify the Constitution for it to go into effect.

Five powers delegated to Congress include laying and collecting taxes, declaration of war, to constitute tribunals, to regulate commerce and maintaining of the army, according to Cornell University. Delegated powers are sometimes referred to as enumerated powers and are established in section 8…

What are the two most important powers of Congress?

The most important powers include the power to tax, to borrow money, to regulate commerce and currency, to declare war, and to raise armies and maintain the navy. These powers give Congress the authority to set policy on the most basic matters of war and peace.

What are the special powers of Congress?

The special powers of the Senate are to approve treaties, impeach public officials and approve people appointed to office by the president. The Senate is also able to censure its own members for inappropriate behavior.

Who are the most powerful members of Congress?

The Majority Party Leader is the the most powerful member of the Senate.