How did Georgia join the union?

The State of Georgia’s first constitution was ratified in February 1777. Georgia was the 10th state to ratify the Articles of Confederation on July 24, 1778, and was the 4th state to ratify the United States Constitution on January 2, 1788.

How is a state admitted to the union?

New States may be admitted by the Congress into this Union; but no new State shall be formed or erected within the Jurisdiction of any other State; nor any State be formed by the Junction of two or more States, or Parts of States, without the Consent of the Legislatures of the States concerned as well as of the …

When was each state admitted to the union?

States and Their Dates of Admission to the Union

State Date Admitted to the Union
1 Delaware Dec. 7, 1787
2 Pennsylvania Dec. 12, 1787
3 New Jersey Dec. 18, 1787
4 Georgia Jan. 2, 1788

What states were admitted to the Union during the Civil War?

Admission of States to Union

Rank State Admission Date
34 Kansas January 29, 1861
35 West Virginia June 20, 1863
36 Nevada October 31, 1864
37 Nebraska March 1, 1867

What allowed Georgia to rejoin the Union?

In February 1870 the newly constituted legislature ratified the Fifteenth Amendment and chose new Senators to send to Washington. On July 15, Georgia became the last former Confederate state readmitted into the Union. The Democrats subsequently won commanding majorities in both houses of the General Assembly.

Why was Georgia removed from the Union after already being admitted back in?

Did you know? After the Civil War, Georgia actually had to be readmitted to the Union twice. Initially readmitted with several other Confederate states in July of 1868, Georgia was kicked back out again in March 1869 after the state expelled all African Americans from the state legislature.

What is Article 5 generally about?

Article Five of the United States Constitution describes the process whereby the Constitution, the nation’s frame of government, may be altered. Under Article V, the process to alter the Constitution consists of proposing an amendment or amendments, and subsequent ratification.

What was the last contiguous state admitted to the union?


January 6, 1912 New Mexico is admitted to the Union as the 47th state.
February 14, 1912 Arizona is admitted to the Union as the 48th and last contiguous state in the Union.

What were the first three states admitted to the union?

list of U.S. states’ dates of admission to the union

state date of admission
Delaware December 7, 1787*
Pennsylvania December 12, 1787*
New Jersey December 18, 1787*
Georgia January 2, 1788*

Which decade were the most states admitted to the union?

Five new states—Louisiana, Indiana, Mississippi, Illinois, and Alabama—were admitted during the 1810s, the most of any decade.

What 14 states joined the union?

In January 1791 Vermont delegates met in Bennington and ratified the U.S. Constitution. On March 4, 1791, Vermont was accepted into the United States of America, as the fourteenth state.

When did Georgia join the Union?

About two weeks after New Jersey, the state of Georgia came on board. On January 2, 1788, Georgia became the fourth state to join the union and the first of the southern states.

How Georgia became a state?

This Day in Georgia History. March 27, 1947. Georgia Became “Right to Work” State. Georgia became a “Right to Work” state when Gov. Melvin Thompson signed legislation prohibiting any employee from having to join or pay dues or fees to any labor organization as a condition of employment.

When did Georgia ratify Constitution?

Ratification of the Constitution by the State of Georgia, January 2, 1788. Georgia was the fourth state to do so. Georgia’s ratification message was short and to the point.