What is the most widely used staging system for melanoma?

The staging system most often used for melanoma is the American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) TNM system, which is based on 3 key pieces of information: The extent of the main (primary) tumor (T): How deep has the cancer grown into the skin?

What is the AJCC 8th edition?

A standardized and contemporary cancer staging system that facilitates accurate risk stratification is essential to guide patient treatment. The eighth edition of the AJCC staging system is currently the most widely accepted approach to melanoma staging and classification at initial diagnosis.

How is staging done for melanoma?

Melanoma is divided into stages using five Roman numerals (0 through IV) and up to four letters (A through D) that indicate a higher risk within each stage. The stage is determined mostly by specific details about the tumor and its growth that are tallied in a system called TNM. Read more about the TNM system.

What is the current edition of the AJCC staging Manual?

The latest, AJCC Cancer Staging Manual, Eighth Edition,2 which became effective on January 1, 2018, is the most ambitious one yet.

Which stage of melanoma has the best prognosis?

Melanoma can be treated most effectively in its early stages when it is still confined to the top layer of the skin (epidermis). The deeper a melanoma penetrates into the lower layers of the skin (dermis), the greater the risk that it could or has spread to nearby lymph nodes or other organs.

What does TX mean in TNM staging?

When your cancer is described by the TNM system, there will be numbers after each letter that give more details about the cancer—for example, T1N0MX or T3N1M0. The following explains what the letters and numbers mean: Primary tumor (T) TX: Main tumor cannot be measured. T0: Main tumor cannot be found.

When is AJCC 9th edition?

Version 9 of the Cervix Uteri Cancer Staging System will go into effect January 1, 2021. For over forty years and eight editions the AJCC has published its AJCC TNM Cancer Staging System in printed books.

What is the purpose of the AJCC manual?

The AJCC Cancer Staging Manual is used by physicians and health care professionals throughout the world to facilitate the uniform description and reporting of neoplastic diseases.

What are the different stages of melanoma?

Melanoma Staging. This stage is divided into three subgroups, IIA, IIB and IIC, depending on the melanoma’s thickness and whether there is ulceration present. Stage 3 – At this stage, the melanoma has spread to lymph nodes nearby. The stage is divided into Stage IIIA, B or C, depending on the size and depth of the tumor,…

What is the prognosis and survival rates for melanoma by stage?

Survival rate. A person’s response to treatment will affect their chance of survival. According to the American Cancer Society, the 5-year survival rate for stage 4 melanoma is 15–20 percent. This means that an estimated 15–20 percent of people with stage 4 melanoma will be alive 5 years after diagnosis.

What is stage 1b melanoma?

Stage 1B means the melanoma is between 1 and 2 mm thick and is not ulcerated. Call Cancer Research UK’s information nurses on freephone 0808 800 4040 from 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday, for more information about staging for melanoma. Doctors also use another staging system for melanoma called the TNM staging system.