What are the parts of a traditional kimono?

These terms refer to parts of a kimono:

  • Dōura (胴裏): the upper lining of a kimono.
  • Hakkake (八掛): the lower lining of a kimono.
  • Eri (衿): the collar.
  • Fuki (袘): the hem guard.
  • Furi (振り): lit., “dangling” — the part of the sleeve left hanging below the armhole.

What a geisha wears?

Geisha and maiko always wear kimono while working, and typically wear kimono outside of work. However, the type of kimono varies based on age, occasion, region and season of the year.

How many parts are there in a kimono?

A standard kimono has at least 5 or 6 parts. Special kimono for Geisha and brides have more parts. It’s also common to use a range of accessories with kimono.

What is a Dana to a geisha?

It was traditional in the past for established geisha to take a danna, or patron. A danna was typically a wealthy man, very rarely married, who had the means to support the very large expenses related to a geisha’s traditional training and other costs. This sometimes occurs today as well, but very rarely.

How many layers does a geisha wear?

Traditionally the kimono was twelve layers, which is why it was named “juni–hitoe”–“juni” means 12 in Japanese. Since twelve layers are very heavy, it has since been reduced. Formal obis worn by men are much narrower than those of women (the width is about 10 centimetres (3.9 in) at its most).

What is the pack on the back of a Geisha?

That’s a kago! The bottom part is basically a tightly-knit straw-basket, and the upper part is usually made of silk and can be closed using drawstings.

How does a geisha get dressed?

A geisha wears zori, which are like flip-flops, and a shorter obi tied in a simple knot. After working for several years, a geisha may chose to wear lighter, “Western-style” makeup instead of the traditional, heavy makeup worn early in her career.

What is the bottom part of a kimono called?

Fuki (袘): the hem guard at the very bottom of the kimono.