What are the major cities in the Northwest Territories?

Northwest Territories

Rank Population centre Population in 2011
1 Yellowknife 18,676
2 Inuvik 3,359
3 Hay River 2,806
4 Fort Smith 1,621

What territories are in the North?

Northern Canada, colloquially the North or the Territories, is the vast northernmost region of Canada variously defined by geography and politics. Politically, the term refers to the three territories of Canada: Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

How many cities does Northwest Territories have?

Communities. The Northwest Territories has 33 communities that are designated authorities, hamlets, villages or cities located in 5 regions.

What are the communities in the Northwest Territories?


  • Aklavik.
  • Aulavik National Park.
  • Behchokǫ̀
  • Colville Lake.
  • Délįne.
  • Dempster Highway to the Arctic Ocean.
  • Dettah.
  • Enterprise.

What is the main industry in the Northwest Territories?

Mining is the largest industry in the NWT. It is also the main source of employment, creating over 2,500 direct jobs. Industry wages and salaries are the highest in Canada.

What are the major cities in Nova Scotia?

List of population centres in Nova Scotia

Rank Population centre Population (2016)
1 Halifax 316,701
2 Cape Breton – Sydney 29,904
3 Truro 22,954
4 New Glasgow 18,665

What are the Northwest Territories known for?

The Top 10 Attractions in the Northwest Territories

  • Northern Lights. We don’t need to introduce you to the Northern Lights.
  • Great Slave Lake.
  • Nahanni National Park Reserve.
  • Ice Roads.
  • Wood Buffalo National Park.
  • Canol Trail.
  • Dempster Highway.
  • Great Northern Arts Festival.

What is the largest city in the Northwest Territories?

Fast Facts: The Northwest Territories is a federal territory located in the northern region of Canada, just north of Alberta and Saskatchewan . The capital and largest city is Yellowknife.

What are facts about Northwest Territories?

Northwest Territories joined Canada in 1870.

  • They are the second most sparsely populated region in Canada after Nunavut,with 1.6 people per square kilometre (4/sq mi).
  • Over 50% of all people live in the city of Yellowknife,which is the territorial capital.
  • What states came from the Northwest Territory?

    Northwest Territory. It encompassed what would become the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin, as well as the northeastern part of Minnesota. In 1803, Ohio was the first state created from the vast lands of the Northwest Territory. It was followed by Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin and Minnesota, all then a part of the Indiana Territory .

    What is the weather like in Northwest Territories?

    The Northwest Territories’ climate is cold but relatively dry, with temperate, sunny summers, in which temperatures rarely rise above 25°C (77°F), and long, bitter winters, during which the thermometer can plunge to -40°C (-40°F), especially north of the Arctic Circle.