What are the categories of students with disabilities?

dation (MR), multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairment, other health impairment, serious emotional disturbance (SED), specific learning disability (SLD), speech or language impairment (Sp/L), traumatic brain injury, and visual impairment.

What did IDEA 2004 increase focus on for students with disabilities?

History of the IDEA ⇓ Subsequent amendments, as reflected in the IDEA, have led to an increased emphasis on access to the general education curriculum, the provision of services for young children from birth through five, transition planning, and accountability for the achievement of students with disabilities.

What are the 13 legal categories of exceptionality?

These are:

  • Autism.
  • Deaf-blindness.
  • Deafness.
  • Developmental delay.
  • Emotional disturbance.
  • Hearing impairment.
  • Intellectual disability.
  • Multiple disabilities.

What are the 13 categories of exceptionality?

What are the major provisions of IDEA 2004?

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) was enacted by the federal government to ensure that all children with disabilities are provided with “equality of [educational] opportunity, full participation, independent living, and economic self-sufficiency.”

Which of the following are one of the 13 disability categories outlined in IDEA check all that apply?

To be covered, a child’s school performance must be “adversely affected” by a disability in one of the 13 categories below.

  • Specific learning disability (SLD)
  • Other health impairment.
  • Autism spectrum disorder (ASD)
  • Emotional disturbance.
  • Speech or language impairment.
  • Visual impairment, including blindness.
  • Deafness.

What is a disability under IDEA?

(6) Intellectual disability means significantly subaverage general intellectual functioning, existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive behavior and manifested during the developmental period, that adversely affects a child’s educational performance.

What are the 6 major components of IDEA?

The Six Pillars of IDEA

  • Individualized Education Program (IEP). The roadmap of the student’s educational program.
  • Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE).
  • Least Restrictive Environment (LRE).
  • Appropriate Evaluation.
  • Parent and Teacher Participation.
  • Procedural Safeguards.

What are the 13 categories of disabilities?

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act lists 13 different disability categories under which three- through 21-year-olds are eligible for services. These categories are: autism. deaf-blindness. deafness. emotional disturbance. hearing impairment.

What is idea disabilities?

The federal (IDEA) definition of multiple disabilities is concomitant impairments (such as mental retardation-blindness or mental retardation-orthopedic impairment), the combination of which causes such severe educational needs that they cannot be accommodated in special education programs solely for one of the impairments.

What are the categories of disabilities?

The four largest categories of disabilities are physical (prosthetic, wheelchair, carpel tunnel), disease (heart, lung, cancer, AIDS) sensory (sight, speech, hearing), and mental (developmentally challenged, emotionally disabled, chemical dependency).

What are the different disabilities?

There are different types of physical disabilities affecting individuals, like the upper limb/s and/or lower limb/s disabilities, manual dexterity, and disability in coordination of different organs.