How much does a uncontested divorce cost in Georgia?

The average total cost for a divorce in Georgia is $14,700 without children, and $23,500 if there are kids involved, according to the survey. An uncontested divorce costs at least $335 in total court and filing fees.

How long does it take to get a uncontested divorce in Georgia?

Dissolution of the marriage There is a mandatory waiting period, even if the divorce is considered no-fault is 30 days before the court issues the Final Order and Decree of Divorce. The average duration of the process for uncontested divorces is 45 – 60 days depending on the court’s availability.

How much does a divorce cost in GA 2020?

It is impossible to fully predict the cost of a divorce in Georgia because so many factors depend on the individual situation. The average cost is around $10,000, with costs running higher if you have children or cannot agree on the divorce terms.

Can I file for divorce online in Georgia?

The state of Georgia does not accept divorce petitions that are filed by fax or online. That does not mean that you cannot begin an online divorce in Georgia. It simply means that you will have to file your divorce petition in person.

Who pays for a divorce in Georgia?

As a general rule, parties in a Georgia divorce are responsible for their own attorneys’ fees. In many cases, however, one spouse will ask the court to order the other spouse to pay his or her attorneys’ fees.

How do I file an uncontested divorce in Georgia?

How to File an Uncontested Divorce in Georgia

  1. Complete the Divorce Paperwork. You begin by completing a “Complaint for Divorce” (sometimes referred to as a “Petition”).
  2. File Your Paperwork and Pay Filing Fees.
  3. Serve Your Spouse.
  4. File a Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings.

How much time is required for a Georgia uncontested divorce?

Under Georgia law, an uncontested divorce can generally be granted within 45 to 60 days, but not less than 30 days. These benefits are great, but the best part of an uncontested divorce is that is much less of burden on you, your companion, and your children than a challenged case.

What are the steps for an uncontested divorce?

Filing Your Paperwork Find the right court. You’ll petition for divorce in the county where either you or your spouse lives. Fill out your forms. Stop into the courthouse and ask for divorce forms. Submit your paperwork. Make several copies of all completed forms. Ask your spouse to agree to service.

Can you back out of an uncontested divorce?

Divorces cannot generally be reversed after that the judge has already signed off and finalized everything.If it was an uncontested divorce, it will be easier for the parties to come together and agree on what needs to be changed. Can a uncontested divorce become contested?

What to expect during an uncontested divorce hearing?

What to expect at the uncontested divorce final hearing. When you walk into the courthouse you will have to go through security. Afterwards walk through the glass doors and the elevators are located on the first floor in the back left hand corner of the building. Take the elevators to the seventh floor and then go to the hearing room which I…