How is the RN license regulated in Georgia?
Registered Nurses (RNs) are licensed by the Georgia Board of Nursing. Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) are licensed by the Georgia Board of Nursing as well. In each case, the licensing process involves an approved course of study, a national exam, and a background check.
How do I get a Georgia nursing license?
Licensure By Endorsement
- Completed application.
- Non-refundable application fee of $75.00.
- Official college transcripts (Nursing education programs must meet the requirements of O.C.G.A.
- Completed criminal background check.
- Verification of original licensure obtained by examination in another state.
How do I renew my lapsed nursing license in Georgia?
Licensure By Reinstatement
- Completed application.
- Non-refundable application fee of $90.00.
- One of the following:
- Verification (sent from certifying body) of active national certification (APRN Only)
- Any other additional information requested by the Board.
How long does it take to get a GA RN license?
No temporary licenses. Approximately 4-6 weeks upon receipt of all required documents.
How do I cite the Georgia Board of Nursing?
In the references, the correct format for citing the entire act is: Georgia Registered Professional Nurse Practice Act, O.C.G.A. § 26-1-13 (2012). When citing multiple sections but not the whole act, use two sections symbols and give inclusive numbers — Georgia Registered Professional Nurse Practice Act, O.C.G.A.
How many times can you take Nclex in GA?
It’s not uncommon to take the NCLEX more than once. You can take the NCLEX 8 times per year with a 45 day waiting period between each test.
Can I work in Georgia with a Florida nursing license?
Georgia has joined Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming as a member of the eNLC. Gov.
How many times can you take Nclex in Georgia?
How many hours can a nurse legally work in a day in Georgia?
Prohibits mandatory overtime and provides a penalty for any violations (2004). This prevents nurses from working more than 16 hours in a 24-hour period. It also requires eight consecutive hours off after a shift of 12 hours or more before the nurse can lawfully return to work. Prohibits mandatory overtime (2002).
How many hours can a nurse work in GA?
Typically, nurses work 3 12-hour shifts in a hospital setting or 4 10-hour shifts for outpatient centers. Georgia nurses who work 12 hours shifts (unless in the ED) typically work straight nights or straight days, rotating shifts are not common.